News Releases
Winners of The Lemelson-MIT Collegiate Student Prizes announced
March 3, 2010

Congratulations to the winners of the $30,000 Lemelson-MIT Collegiate Student Prizes! The four awarding universities – Massachusetts Institute of Technology, California Institute of Technology, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign – announced their respective student winners today, featuring innovation in a range of fields.

2010 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize<br /> winner Erez Lieberman-Aiden Credit: The Lemelson-MIT Program

This is exemplified by the so-called "Scientific Renaissance Man" Erez Lieberman-Aiden, winner of the prize at MIT. Lieberman-Aiden is a graduate student at the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology whose work spans the fields of mathematics, linguistics, biotechnology and polymer physics. His most recent invention is a method of 3-D genome mapping.

Winners from the other Lemelson-MIT Collegiate Student Prize universities:

  • Lemelson-MIT Caltech Student Prize winner Heather Agnew contributed to the development of an innovative technique that creates inexpensive, stable, highly reliable biochemical compounds that have the potential to replace antibodies used in many standard diagnostic tests.
  • Lemelson-MIT Illinois Student Prize winner Jonathan Naber and the Illini Prosthetics Team developed an affordable, durable, extremely functional prosthetic arm for people in underdeveloped countries, made from recycled materials.
  • Lemelson-MIT Rensselaer Student Prize winner Kayvan Rafiee created a new method for manufacturing and using graphene to store hydrogen which has the potential to lead to more affordable hydrogen-powered cars and trucks.

Read the full press release from the Lemelson-MIT program

About the Lemelson-MIT Program

The Lemelson-MIT Program recognizes outstanding inventors, encourages sustainable new solutions to real-world problems, and enables and inspires young people to pursue creative lives and careers through invention. The program was founded by Jerome Lemelson at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1994, and is administered by the School of Engineering.